Women of Excellence

A- A A+

Women of Excellence

The YWCA’s Women of Excellence event celebrates women who have dedicated their time, talent, and treasures for the betterment of our community. Meant to honor strong women who uphold our mission, the YWCA is proud to recognize each honoree for the dedication, leadership, and passion they give to making our community a better place.

Often referred to as a FRIENDraiser, rather than a fundraiser, Women of Excellence offers a beautiful way to celebrate friends while offering inspiration to the clients served within the walls of the YWCA. This event connects women from across the community, excellent in various ways, to the YWCA’s mission to Empower Women. The program staff at the YWCA are committed to providing ways for every client served to feel the same joy for their personal achievements as each of our honorees feel through their recognition.

Celebrating 11 Women nominees from across our community and 5 Young Women nominees from local school districts, the YWCA Northcentral PA was proud to celebrate their achievements at this years’ 13th Annual Tribute to Women of Excellence Event held on November 4th, 2021 at Farrington Place, downtown Williamsport. To view the photo album from this years’ event, please click HERE

Previously Honored Wise Women of the Year

While there are many Women of Excellence, only one is selected to represent the honoree class as the Wise Woman of the Year; nominated by peers and voted upon by all previous YWCA Wise Women. A Wise Woman is one filled with compassion and perseverance. An exemplary woman with a dedicated commitment to service, making a significant and lasting impact in Lycoming County.

1997 – Sister Jean Mohl
1998 – Annmarie Phillips
1999 – Davie Jane Gilmour, Ph.D.
2000 – Nan Young
2001 – Henrietta Hadley
2002 – Ann Pepperman
2003 – Kimberly Pittman-Shulz
2004 – Patricia Lowery
2005 – Sister Joann Bednar
2006 – Peachie O’Conner
2007 – Andree Phillips
2009** – Marguerite Bierman
2010 – Janice Trapp
2011 – Veronica Muzic
2012 – Barbara Hudock
2013 – Beth McMahon
2014 – Judge Nancy L. Butts
2015 – Anne Holladay
2016 – Kirsten Burkhart
2017 – Sue Young
2018 – Judith Krezmer
2019 – Shea Madden
2020 – Maddie Dunlap
2021- Sherry Paulhamus
**2009 marks the first year a formal Women of Excellence event took place. 

Previously Celebrated Women of Excellence

2009 Women of Excellence

Marie Harris, Jeri Sims, Bonita Kolb, Kathleen Kelly, Elisabeth Miranda, Barbara Natell, Jean Heller, Joann Kay, Meagan Murray, Rachel Kirk, Donna Bastian, Marquerite Bierman (Wise Woman), C. Jane Hawkins, Kathy Brown-Wehr and Kay Dando

2010 Women of Excellence

Sandy Spencer, Nuria Hunter, Dee Gephart, Pam Hicks, Amy Dowling, Tanya Anderson, Linda Boose, Jeanette Carter, Annmarie Phillips, Kay Ertel, Charline Pulizzi, Linda Prior and Janice Trapp (Wise Woman)

2011 Women of Excellence

Debra Mader Miller, Deb Parsons, Caryn Powers, Mary Kilgus, Doreen White, Judge Joy McCoy, Mackenzie Yaw, Lois Williams, Brenda Nichols, Veronica Muzic (Wise Woman), Beth McMahon, Deb Bowes and Geneva Peck

2012 Women of Excellence

Stephanie Hollick, Karen Woland-Payne, M. Chris Lechien, Savonna Reagan, Jenifer L. DeWald, Karen Armstrong, Diane Page, Opal Schlappi, Jessica Bower, Peggy Wood, Rebecca Burke, Andree Phillips and Barbara Hudock – Wise Woman

2013 Women of Excellence

Jennifer Rhea, Melanie Taormina, Ann Plankenhorn, Radecka Appiah-Padi, Christina Herman, Carolyn Strickland, Gail Leidhecker, Dawn Linn, Jennifer Jackson, Beth McMahon (Wise Woman), Rosann Pellschi and Frances Melito Pfaff

2014 Women of Excellence

Linell Stabler, Dana Brigandi, Virginia Eaton, Kathy Zakarian, Aegina Leidhecker, Bonnie Dodge, Trisha Marty Gibbons, Candace Dewar, Megan Stoner, Judge Nancy L. Butts (Wise Woman), Renee Laychur, Barb Wascher and Susan Burns

2015 Women of Excellence

Tracy Brundage, Mary Sieminski, Jamie Caputo, Rev. Velinda Webb, Sue Greene, Debra Schneider, Fran Turner, Janet Hurlbert, Anne Holladay (Wise Woman), Karen Young and Makayla Hoffman (Young Woman of Excellence)


2016 Women of Excellence

Back row: Kirsten Burkhart (Wise Woman); Next row: Gerry Fausnaught, Rev. Gwen Bernstein, Joani Yagel; Next Row: Cookie Mutchler, Jeanette Kitchen, Tammy Gunsallus; Next row: Sherry Watts, Jacky Holloway; Front row: Kimberly Cassel, Doreen Decker. Not pictured: Jan Fisher.




2017 Women of Excellence

Back row: Tina Beach, Diane Glenwright; Next row: Tracey Amey, Yvonne Dirocco, Nancy Story-Somers; Next Row: Alma Verzella, Robin Glossner, Katie Bell; Next row: Barbara McGary, Carolyn Hawk, Shirley Durrwacher; Front row: Sue Young (Wise Woman of the Year); Allaryn Smith (Young Woman of Excellence)





2018 Women of Excellence

Back row: Karen L. Zinobile; Next Row: Judith Krezmer (Wise Woman), Debra Griffin and Susan Best; Next Row: Marianne DePasqua and Stephanie Calder; Front Row: Dawn Astin, Laurie W. Burkholder and Maya Holmes (Young Woman of Excellence)






2019 class2019 Women of Excellence

Brittany Fischer, Emily S. Gale, Kelly Gillis, Amy Harada, Martha B. Huddy, Jody, Lantz, Katie L. Mackey, Shea Madden (Wise Woman), Suzette Meyer, Judith B. Shellenberger, Stephanie Steinbacher (Young Woman of Excellence), Brenda Terry-Manchester, Alice Trowbridge, Josie Vannucci Miller and Grace E. Watts.




2020 Women of Excellence

Anna Thompson, Barbara Reeves, Heather Stafford, Jennifer Lake, Jessica Wheeland, Loni Kline, Lyneah Huddock, Maddi Dunlap (Wise Woman), Marisa Rau, Mary Jo Bower, Susan Dinsmore, Theresa Kendall, Tracy Haas




2021 Women of Excellence

Valerie Fessler, Allison Bressler-Grove, Miranda Kujawa, Patti Jackson-Gehris, Sherry Paulhamus (Wise Woman), Jessica Harlow, Anna Radspinner, Susan Branton, Devon Yochum, Rebecca Elkins (not pictured: Tammy Anderer)